Private golf pro in Marrakech: playing lessons, clinics and caddies
- 19 October 2026
Only two golf clubs in Marrakech publish a price for private time with a pro. At Samanah Golf Club, the academy run by former European Tour player Olivier Edmond lists a 90-minute swing assessment at €180 (about £152), a 50-minute follow-up lesson at €90 (about £76) and a 9-hole playing lesson at €380 (about £320), green fee and buggy included. At Fairmont Royal Palm, the last rate card online, archived on 17 June 2026, showed 1,000 MAD for a one-hour private lesson and 2,300 MAD for nine holes with a pro. Everywhere else you have to ask the club: we re-read the official websites of all 13 Marrakech courses on our site on 19 October 2026.
Private pro, golf school or lesson: what this guide covers
This is for the golfer who already plays off a handicap and wants one-to-one time with a coach during a golf week: a playing lesson to work on course management, a swing assessment, a short-game or putting session, or a half-day of analysis before the rounds. It is not a group course over several days, and it is not a taster session; those are covered in our guide to golf lessons in Morocco.
One rule to keep in mind from the start: since the Royal Moroccan Golf Federation’s circular of 29 May 2025, a caddie is compulsory on every course in Morocco for rounds played. A lesson out on the course is therefore played with a caddie too, unless the club says otherwise.
Published coaching rates, club by club
The table shows only what each club or its academy publishes itself. “Not published” means there is no price online, not that no coaching exists. Euro prices are the Samanah academy’s own; the others are in Moroccan dirhams (MAD), as shown. Sterling figures use the European Central Bank rate of 19 October 2026 (€1 = £0.84205), rounded.
| Course | Coaches named | Service | Length | Published price | Status of the rate card |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samanah Golf Club | Olivier Edmond (Edmond Performance) | Assessment: swing analysis and improvement plan | 90 min | €180 (about £152) | Academy’s online booking page, read 19/10/2026 |
| Samanah Golf Club | Olivier Edmond | Follow-up lesson | 50 min | €90 (about £76) | As above |
| Samanah Golf Club | Olivier Edmond | Playing lesson, 9 holes, green fee and buggy included | 2 h 30 | €380 (about £320) | As above |
| Samanah Golf Club | Academy coach | Individual or group lesson | 1 h / 2 h | €70 / €140 (about £59 / £118) | As above |
| Samanah Golf Club | Academy | Putting coaching | 90 min | €150 (about £126) | As above |
| Fairmont Royal Palm | Jean-Michel Richard (head coach), Guillaume Assayag (PGA France) | Private / two-person lesson | 1 h | 1,000 MAD / 1,300 MAD | Last rate card online, archived 17/06/2026 (golf website offline since 14/10/2026) |
| Fairmont Royal Palm | As above | Playing lesson with a pro | 9 / 18 holes | 2,300 MAD / 4,000 MAD | As above |
| Fairmont Royal Palm | As above | Trackman analysis | 1 h 30 | 1,500 MAD | As above |
| Royal Golf Marrakech | Head Pro Amadou | No hourly lesson published; Intensive Plus course with a pro on the course | 2 to 5 mornings of 3 h | 3,150 to 7,250 MAD | No validity date shown, read 19/10/2026 |
| Assoufid Golf Club | Academy pro | Range fee for a session with a pro (the pro’s own fee is not published) | Not stated | 150 MAD | Rate card 1/10/2026 to 30/09/2027 |
| Atlas Golf | Not named | Private lessons, price “upon request” | Not stated | Not published | — |
| Al Maaden Golf | Erwann Jouannic (PGA France diploma), Hafid Agouram (BPJEPS) | Sessions booked online; only the junior academy has a price (1,500 MAD a term) | Not stated | Not published for adults | Academy page read 19/10/2026 |
| Amelkis, The Montgomerie, The Tony Jacklin, PalmGolf Ourika, Noria, Akenza, Palmeraie (Rotana) | Prestigia Golf Academy named at The Montgomerie and The Tony Jacklin; group lessons advertised at PalmGolf Ourika | — | — | Not published | Websites read 19/10/2026 |
Two points on reading the table. Samanah’s academy says its prices cover one or two players and adds €40 per session for a third. Royal Golf Marrakech does not say whether its course prices are per person.
Want a pro booked into your golf week? We build the trip to measure: courses, tee times, accommodation and transfers.
The playing lesson: the format that helps a decent golfer most
Out on the course you work on what actually costs shots: club selection, lines off the tee, distance control and decisions under pressure. Two Marrakech clubs publish this format with a price.
Samanah: nine holes with Olivier Edmond, €380
The academy’s playing lesson lasts two and a half hours over nine holes, with green fee and buggy included. The academy describes it as an analysis of decision-making, strategy and game management in real playing conditions. Olivier Edmond won on the Challenge Tour before earning his European Tour card in 1997, was named Sir Henry Cotton Rookie of the Year in 1998 and later served as national technical director of the Royal Moroccan Golf Federation. The course is Samanah’s Nicklaus Design layout at km 14 on the Amizmiz road.
Fairmont Royal Palm: nine or 18 holes with a pro
The academy’s last viewable rate card (archived 17 June 2026) listed 2,300 MAD for nine holes and 4,000 MAD for 18 holes with a pro. It did not say whether the green fee was included. Check the access rules: the course is open only to players with a valid licence and a handicap of 28 or better, and buggies are not allowed in wet weather. As the golf club’s own website has been offline since 14 October 2026, reconfirm these prices with the club before booking.
Royal Golf Marrakech: a pro on the course, in a small group
Royal Golf Marrakech, opened in 1927, does not publish an hourly private lesson. Its Intensive Plus course, however, combines three hours of coaching each morning (9am to midday) with nine holes alongside a pro for strategy, the mental game and the short game: 3,150 MAD for 2 days with one nine-hole round, 5,050 MAD for 3 days, 6,000 MAD for 4 days and 7,250 MAD for 5 days with three nine-hole rounds. The course is limited to six people, and the school groups its pupils by level, from beginner to “elite” (handicap index below 18).
Swing assessment, private clinic, Trackman, club fitting
If you want a focused half-day of work rather than a round, Samanah’s academy is the only one in the city to publish a full menu. The 90-minute assessment (€180) covers swing analysis, a technical evaluation, strengths and weaknesses, and a personal improvement plan. It continues with 50-minute follow-up lessons (€90). Two bundles are listed:
- Performance Weekend, €650 (about £547) for one player: a 90-minute assessment, a 50-minute follow-up and a playing lesson with buggy.
- Performance Pack, €600 (about £505): one assessment and five follow-up lessons.
The academy also sells 90 minutes of putting coaching (€150) and, with its mental coach Isabelle Meichelbeck, a 90-minute mental game assessment at €125 (about £105). The assessment, follow-up and playing lessons are private sessions, for one or two people, three at most.
At Fairmont Royal Palm, the archived rate card offered a 90-minute Trackman analysis at 1,500 MAD without naming the coach; the team then included Guillaume Assayag, a PGA France member and former Alps Tour player described as a “Trackman Expert”.
Club fitting: none of the official websites of the 13 Marrakech courses advertises a fitting service as of 19 October 2026. If you want one during your trip, ask the club before you travel, with no guarantee of a yes.
Bringing your own pro
Some golf societies travel with their club professional. Only one Marrakech club publishes a rule on this: Fairmont Royal Palm. Course access there is free for Moroccan professionals, residents of Morocco, professionals playing on a tour and professionals staying at the hotel. A non-resident professional pays half the green fee, and plays free when accompanying a group of seven or more. The other clubs publish nothing on the subject, so settle it when you book.
The caddie, even during a lesson
The federation’s circular of 29 May 2025 makes a caddie compulsory on every course in Morocco for rounds played. None of the coaching rate cards above says whether the caddie is included in a playing lesson, so budget for one separately unless the club confirms otherwise. Published caddie fees:
| Course | Caddie, 9 holes | Caddie, 18 holes | Worth knowing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royal Golf Marrakech | 150 to 250 MAD | 200 to 300 MAD | Price per caddie, by number of players (1-2, 3 or 4), paid in cash to the caddie |
| Assoufid Golf Club | 150 MAD | 250 MAD | On request |
| Atlas Golf | 100 MAD | 120 MAD | Book caddies and buggies 24 hours ahead |
| The Montgomerie | 100 MAD | 150 MAD | Operator’s price |
Booking: notice, cancellation, language
- Samanah (Edmond Performance): book online on the academy’s website and pay online, by PayPal or on site in dirhams. Its terms (updated 14 June 2026) let you move a session free of charge if you cancel more than 48 hours ahead; inside 48 hours it may be charged in full.
- Fairmont Royal Palm: the archived rate card stated that any lesson cancelled less than 24 hours ahead is charged. The hotel’s website says walk-ins are welcome but recommends booking lessons in advance.
- Royal Golf Marrakech: the club publishes its head pro Amadou’s phone number and email address on the golf school page.
- Language: no club states the teaching language. Samanah’s academy website is in French; Royal Palm’s was in French and English. Say which language you want when you book.
A sample week with a pro, over three courses
Here is how to fit the sessions in without losing a day’s golf, allowing for winter tee times (at Samanah the last 18-hole tee time is 2.15pm in February and 2.30pm in March).
- Day 1, Samanah: 90-minute assessment in the morning, then 18 holes in the afternoon to put the plan into practice.
- Day 2, Al Maaden Golf: free round, warming up on the 300-metre driving range.
- Day 3, Samanah: nine holes with Olivier Edmond, then a 50-minute follow-up on whatever cost you shots.
- Day 4, Assoufid or Royal Golf Marrakech: a test round without a pro, to see whether the work holds up with a card in your hand.
The Performance Weekend (€650) covers the three Samanah sessions in this plan in a single booking. To compare the courses before you choose, see our Marrakech golf courses compared guide. This kind of week can fit into our golf holidays in Marrakech: a private villa for 3 to 21 people, a dedicated chef cooking in the villa, private transfers between the airport, the villa and the courses, and rounds on Marrakech’s courses chosen with you, from €1,150 per golfer (about £970); sessions with a pro are quoted on request.
Assessment, playing lesson or private clinic: tell us what you want to work on. We build the trip to measure: courses, tee times, accommodation and transfers.
Frequently asked questions
How much is a private golf lesson in Marrakech?
At Samanah, Olivier Edmond’s academy charges €90 for a 50-minute follow-up lesson, €180 for a 90-minute assessment and €70 an hour with an academy coach. At Fairmont Royal Palm, the last archived rate card (June 2026) showed 1,000 MAD an hour for one player and 1,300 MAD for two. The other courses do not publish prices.
Can I play a round with a pro in Marrakech?
Yes. Samanah sells a nine-hole playing lesson with Olivier Edmond at €380, green fee and buggy included. Fairmont Royal Palm listed 2,300 MAD for nine holes and 4,000 MAD for 18 in its archived rate card. Royal Golf Marrakech includes nine-hole rounds with a pro in its Intensive Plus course.
Do I need a caddie during a playing lesson?
The Royal Moroccan Golf Federation’s circular of 29 May 2025 makes a caddie compulsory on every course for rounds played. The coaching rate cards do not say whether a caddie is included in a playing lesson, so budget for one unless the club confirms otherwise.
Can I get custom-fitted for clubs at a Marrakech golf club?
None of the official websites of the 13 Marrakech courses advertises club fitting as of 19 October 2026. Fairmont Royal Palm’s archived rate card listed a 90-minute Trackman analysis at 1,500 MAD; for a fitting, ask the club directly.
Can our society bring its own club pro?
Fairmont Royal Palm is the only club to publish a rule: a non-resident professional pays half the green fee and plays free when accompanying a group of seven or more. The other clubs publish nothing on this point.
Plan your golf trip in Morocco
Courses, dates, number of players: tell us what you have in mind and we come back with a proposal. We answer in English.
- Quick reply by email or WhatsApp
- Free quote, no obligation, no online payment
- We reply in English or French
