Handicap, dress code and caddies: the rules for golf in Morocco

Get a free quote (no obligation)

Golfer in a polo shirt walking off a pine-lined tee, his bag on its stand

There is no single maximum handicap for golf in Morocco, and most clubs do not publish one at all. Two Marrakech courses set a written limit: Fairmont Royal Palm (handicap of 28 or better plus a valid golf licence; club website offline on 16 October 2026) and Assoufid (35 maximum, with a handicap certificate shown at reception). Outside Marrakech, Royal Golf Dar Es Salam in Rabat (under 18 on the Red course, under 28 on the Blue) and Mogador Golf Academy in Essaouira (under 36, proof required) set one too. Since a Royal Moroccan Golf Federation circular of 29 May 2025, a caddie has been compulsory on every course in Morocco: it is paid in cash at Royal Golf Marrakech, Royal Palm and Royal Golf Cabo Negro, Royal Golf Dar Es Salam sets the number per course, and elsewhere it costs 120 to 250 MAD for 18 holes on published rates. Dress code: collared golf shirt, golf trousers or tailored shorts, golf shoes; no jeans, T-shirts or gym shorts.

The rules and fees below come from the clubs’ official websites, read on 8 October 2026 unless stated otherwise. They change from season to season, so check them again before you travel.

Handicap: what the clubs actually require

Here is what the official club pages say:

  • Fairmont Royal Palm: the course is “exclusively reserved for players with a valid golf license and a handicap of 28 or better”. That is the lowest limit we found in Marrakech.
  • Assoufid Golf Club: maximum handicap 35 for men and women, and players must show their handicap certificate at reception before paying the green fee.
  • Royal Golf Dar Es Salam (Rabat): handicap under 18 for the Red course, under 28 for the Blue course.
  • Mogador Golf Academy (Essaouira): bookings are open to players with an official handicap under 36, and proof is required before you tee off.
  • The other courses we checked (Royal Golf Marrakech, Al Maaden, The Montgomerie, Atlas Golf, Golf de l’Océan in Agadir): no maximum handicap appears on their rates or course pages.

No published rule does not mean nobody will ask. Pack your golf licence or club membership card and a recent handicap certificate: they weigh nothing and settle the question on the first tee. If your index is above 28, plan the week without Royal Palm; above 35, without Assoufid as well.

Course-by-course rules

CourseAreaMaximum handicapCertificate or licenceCaddie (18 holes)
Fairmont Royal PalmMarrakech28Valid golf licence requiredCompulsory, at least one per group, 200 MAD, cash
Assoufid Golf ClubMarrakech35Certificate shown at reception250 MAD; “on request” on the club’s rate card, recommended by its rules
Royal Golf MarrakechMarrakechNot statedNot statedCompulsory since 28/05/2025: 200 MAD (1-2 players), 250 (3), 300 (4), cash
Al MaadenMarrakechNot statedNot stated200 MAD (“on request” on the club’s rate card)
The MontgomerieMarrakechNot statedNot stated150 MAD
Argan Golf Resort (The Tony Jacklin)MarrakechNot statedNot stated150 MAD
Atlas GolfMarrakechNot statedNot stated120 MAD, book 24 hours ahead
Golf de l’OcéanAgadirNot statedNot stated150 MAD; recommended for a four-ball
Royal Golf Cabo NegroCabo Negro, near TetouanNot statedNot statedCompulsory since 28/05/2025: 200 to 300 MAD depending on group size, cash
Royal Golf Dar Es SalamRabatUnder 18 (Red), under 28 (Blue)Not statedCompulsory (one per player on the Red), 200 MAD (club’s 2025 rates)
Mogador Golf AcademyEssaouiraUnder 36Proof required before teeing off120 MAD

“Not stated” means the rule does not appear on the official pages we read, not that it does not exist. For Samanah, Amelkis, PalmGolf Ourika, Noria and Golf du Soleil we found no published maximum handicap and no caddie fee in readable text.

Caddies: compulsory on every course

The federal rule and how clubs apply it

A federal circular of 29 May 2025 from the Royal Moroccan Golf Federation (FRMG) makes using a caddie compulsory “on all golf courses, during rounds played”; it sets neither a fee nor a number of caddies per group, which each club decides. Royal Golf Marrakech and Royal Golf Cabo Negro have required a forecaddie since 28 May 2025; both clubs say the rule follows a note from the Royal Moroccan Golf Federation. The fee is per caddie, not per player: at Royal Golf Marrakech, 200 MAD for one or two players, 250 MAD for three and 300 MAD for a four-ball over 18 holes (150 to 250 MAD over 9). At Fairmont Royal Palm you needed at least one caddie per group, at 200 MAD a round (2025-26 rate card; club website offline on 16 October 2026). At all three, you pay the caddie directly, in cash. At Royal Golf Dar Es Salam in Rabat, the club rules require one caddie per player on the Red course, one per player or per team of two or more on the Blue, and one per game on the Green; a caddie costs 200 MAD for 18 holes (2025 rates).

What the other clubs publish

On its rate card Assoufid lists the caddie as “on request”, and its club rules recommend that every player takes one (250 MAD for 18 holes, 150 MAD for 9); the federal circular makes a caddie compulsory on every course. Golf de l’Océan recommends a caddie for a four-ball (150 MAD for 18 holes). Atlas Golf asks you to book caddies and buggies 24 hours ahead to be sure of one. Al Maaden and The Montgomerie list a caddie fee without mentioning the federal rule.

Carry cash

Because caddies are paid in cash at Royal Golf Marrakech, Royal Palm and Cabo Negro, keep small-denomination dirhams for every round. For a four-ball at Royal Golf Marrakech, the forecaddie comes to 300 MAD for the group, or 75 MAD each.

Tipping your caddie

None of the clubs we checked publishes a tip amount. The only official document that mentions gratuities is Assoufid’s club rules: the fees and “suggested gratuities for a job well done” are written on the Caddy Assessment Card that the caddie master hands each player before the round, and the club asks you to fill it in and return it. Elsewhere, ask the caddie master what is customary when you pay your green fee, rather than relying on a figure from a forum.

Dress code on Moroccan courses

What is accepted

Assoufid publishes the most detailed dress code we found in Marrakech. Men: golf shirt with collar and sleeves, golf trousers, tailored (Bermuda-length) shorts worn with long or short socks, cap (off in the clubhouse) and golf shoes. Women: golf shirt with or without collar or sleeves, golf blouse, golf trousers, golf shorts or skirt no higher than 2 inches above the knee. Children under 10 are exempt.

What is refused

  • Short or mid-thigh shorts for men, cargo shorts and trousers.
  • Tank tops, T-shirts, rugby shirts, swimwear, tracksuit bottoms.
  • Jeans and any denim, tennis shorts or dresses, athletic shorts in spandex or Lycra.
  • Caps or visors worn backwards.
  • Metal spikes, trainers, boat shoes and street shoes, on the course, the driving range and the putting greens.

Anyone improperly dressed will be asked to change before playing. Atlas Golf has a shorter rule in the same spirit: collarless tank tops, tracksuits and sports shorts are banned.

What to pack

One collared golf shirt per golf day, golf trousers or tailored shorts, and soft-spike shoes. Flat tennis shoes may be allowed at Assoufid, but only with the golf director’s approval, so do not count on it.

Documents to bring

  • Passport: you need one to enter Morocco, and the UK government says it must be valid for at least 3 months after the date you arrive.
  • Golf licence: Royal Palm requires a valid one.
  • Handicap certificate: required at Assoufid and Mogador Golf Academy, useful everywhere else.
  • Cash in dirhams: to pay the caddie, compulsory on every course.

Planning a trip around these rules

The easiest approach is to match the courses to each player’s handicap before booking tee times. We build the trip to measure: courses that suit every handicap in the group, tee times and caddies booked, accommodation and transfers. Tell us about your group on our Marrakech golf holidays page and ask for a quote. For green fees across the country, see our guide to green fees in Morocco; the Fairmont Royal Palm, Assoufid Golf Club and Royal Golf Marrakech pages cover each course.

Frequently asked questions

It depends on the course. Fairmont Royal Palm required a handicap of 28 or better and a valid golf licence (club website offline on 16 October 2026); Assoufid allows a maximum of 35, with a certificate. The other courses we checked do not publish a maximum handicap.

Yes, on every course: a Royal Moroccan Golf Federation circular of 29 May 2025 makes a caddie compulsory when you play. Clubs apply it in their own way: a forecaddie at Royal Golf Marrakech and Royal Golf Cabo Negro (priced per caddie according to the number of players), at least one per group at Fairmont Royal Palm, one per player on the Red at Royal Golf Dar Es Salam in Rabat.

On published rates, from 120 MAD (Atlas Golf) to 250 MAD (Assoufid) for 18 holes. At Royal Golf Marrakech the forecaddie costs 200 to 300 MAD depending on the size of the group, paid in cash.

None of the clubs we checked publishes an amount. At Assoufid, suggested gratuities are printed on the Caddy Assessment Card handed out before the round; elsewhere, ask the caddie master what is customary.

No. Assoufid’s rules exclude jeans, denim and T-shirts, and Atlas Golf bans collarless tank tops, tracksuits and sports shorts. Pack a collared golf shirt and golf trousers or tailored shorts.

Plan your golf trip in Morocco

Courses, dates, number of players: tell us what you have in mind and we come back with a proposal. We answer in English.

  • Quick reply by email or WhatsApp
  • Free quote, no obligation, no online payment
  • We reply in English or French

Step 1 of 5

Plan your golf trip

Golf

Step 2 of 5

TRAVELLERS

Travellers

Step 3 of 5

GOLF PREFERENCES

Golf preferences

Step 4 of 5

YOUR BUDGET

Your budget

Step 5 of 5

OPTIONAL EXTRAS

Optional extras