Golf Society Trips to Morocco: A Marrakech Group Guide
- 29 September 2026
For a golf society trip to Morocco, Marrakech is the simplest base: more than a dozen courses around the city, four of them with 27 holes, and direct flights from six UK airports, Dublin and Stockholm on Ryanair alone. The points that decide whether a group trip runs smoothly are handicap rules, caddie rules and flights from your nearest airport. This guide sets out what the clubs, airlines and governments actually publish, checked on 28 September 2026, and what you still need to ask before you book.
Why Marrakech works for a group
- Choice without moving hotel. Our Marrakech guide covers more than a dozen courses, from Royal Golf Marrakech (opened in 1927) to Akenza (opened in 2025). A group can play a different course each day; our side-by-side comparison sets out holes, par, designers and fees.
- Extra holes on site. Royal Golf Marrakech has an 18 plus a nine-hole New Course; Amelkis has three nines; The Tony Jacklin Marrakech has an 18-hole par 72 plus a nine-hole par-3 course; Samanah adds a nine-hole pitch & putt. Useful when not everyone wants a full round.
- Direct flights from several regions of the UK, from Ireland and from Sweden (details below).
Choosing courses for mixed handicaps
Most societies mix low and high handicaps, and two Marrakech clubs publish a rule you must plan around:
| Course | Published rule |
|---|---|
| Fairmont Royal Palm | Valid golf licence and a handicap of 28 or better |
| Assoufid Golf Club | Maximum handicap of 35 |
For the other courses we found no published handicap limit, which does not mean there is none: ask the club, or ask us to ask. Carry proof of handicap for every player. For newer golfers, Atlas Golf, a nine-hole course, is described by the club as “fairly technical” but suited to beginners and advanced players alike, and the short courses at The Tony Jacklin Marrakech and Samanah give them a game while the others play 18.
Beyond Marrakech, the operator of Teelal Saïdia says the course, with its large aprons, is designed for golfers of all levels, particularly women and seniors; the federation calls Al Houara near Tangier “not very penalizing” but with well-defended greens.
Group rules we found
Very few clubs publish group terms. What we could confirm:
- Fairmont Royal Palm: free access for the professional accompanying a group of seven or more, and a 50% green fee discount for non-resident professionals. At least one forecaddie per group is required, at 200 MAD per round, paid in cash to the caddie.
- Royal Golf Marrakech: a caddie has been compulsory since 28 May 2025, priced per caddie, not per player, according to the number of players: 200 MAD for 1–2 players, 250 MAD for 3 and 300 MAD for 4 over 18 holes, paid in cash.
- Royal Golf Cabo Negro (northern Morocco) applies the same rule since the same date, citing a note from the Royal Moroccan Golf Federation.
We found no published society rates, shotgun starts or maximum group sizes on any club site we checked. Those are negotiated case by case, which is where a local organiser helps.
Flights from regional airports
| Airline | Departure airports to Marrakech | What we confirmed |
|---|---|---|
| Ryanair | London Stansted, Birmingham, Manchester, Liverpool, Newcastle, Edinburgh, Dublin, Stockholm Arlanda | Routes in Ryanair’s own route data, 28 Sept 2026 (not a guarantee of year-round frequency) |
| Jet2 | Birmingham, London Stansted, Manchester, Glasgow, Newcastle | Two weekly flights until 13 November 2026 (announced in October 2024) |
| easyJet | Newcastle | From 3 November 2026, Tuesdays and Saturdays |
| easyJet, Ryanair | Edinburgh | Both listed on Edinburgh Airport’s Marrakech route page |
Ryanair’s data returned no Marrakech route from Belfast, Cork, Shannon, Copenhagen, Billund, Gothenburg, Oslo, Bristol, East Midlands, Leeds Bradford or Prestwick. We have not confirmed other airlines from Denmark or Norway, so groups from there should expect to check connections.
Golf bags: on Ryanair, golf clubs travel in the hold for a fee, up to 20 kg, with excess charged per kilo. Royal Air Maroc carries a golf bag of up to 23 kg free of charge, subject to its conditions. For a society, book the bags at the same time as the seats.
Entry rules by passport
| Passport | Visa | Passport validity | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| British | Not needed, up to 90 days for tourism | At least 3 months after arrival | GOV.UK |
| Irish | Not needed | At least 6 months from entry; passport card not accepted | Department of Foreign Affairs (updated 16 July 2025) |
| Swedish | Not needed, up to 90 days | Not stated on the embassy page | Swedish embassy (updated 25 Aug 2026) |
| Danish | Not needed, maximum 90 days | Recommended: at least 90 days from departure date | Danish foreign ministry |
| Norwegian | Not needed; valid passport required | Not stated | Norwegian embassy in Rabat (July 2023) |
For a mixed group, six months’ validity keeps everyone safe. Make sure each passport is stamped on arrival: the UK government reports travellers having difficulty leaving without the stamp, and the Swedish embassy notes that the entry number is asked for at hotel check-in.
Money
The Moroccan dirham (MAD) is a closed, non-convertible currency and cannot easily be exchanged outside Morocco, says the UK government. Foreign currency worth 100,000 MAD or more must be declared on entry and exit. Caddie fees at Royal Golf Marrakech, Fairmont Royal Palm and Cabo Negro are payable in cash, so each four-ball needs dirhams on the day.
What to ask when you request a quote
- Group size, dates and departure airports for everyone (our 3, 4 and 7-night itineraries show how many rounds fit).
- Each player’s handicap, so courses with a limit (Fairmont 28, Assoufid 35) are only booked for players who qualify.
- Whether the group has a professional travelling (relevant at Fairmont for groups of seven or more).
- Caddie rules at each course and whether caddie fees are in the quote or paid in cash on the day.
- Whether any course is closed on your dates (Fairmont announced a maintenance closure from 15 August to 30 September).
- Which season’s green fees apply: several clubs run their rates from 1 October to 30 September, and prices change each season. See our green fees guide.
- Consecutive tee times for the whole group, and buggy numbers.
Our booking guide explains how tee times work.
Frequently asked questions
Do Marrakech golf clubs offer society rates?
None of the club sites we checked publishes society rates or shotgun starts. The only group rule we found is at Fairmont Royal Palm: the accompanying professional plays free for groups of seven or more.
Can high handicappers play every course?
Not every one. Fairmont Royal Palm required a handicap of 28 or better and a valid licence (club website offline on 16 October 2026); Assoufid sets a maximum of 35. Ask about the other courses before you book.
Which airports fly direct to Marrakech for a society trip?
On Ryanair: London Stansted, Birmingham, Manchester, Liverpool, Newcastle, Edinburgh, Dublin and Stockholm Arlanda (route data, 28 September 2026). Jet2 announced in October 2024 Glasgow among others, until 13 November 2026.
Do we need visas?
No visa is needed for British, Irish, Swedish, Danish or Norwegian citizens on holiday. Passport validity rules differ: 3 months after arrival for UK passports, 6 months from entry for Irish ones.
Plan your society trip
Send us your group size, dates, airports and handicaps, and we will build a course plan around them. Start on our Marrakech golf holidays page.
Plan your golf trip in Morocco
Courses, dates, number of players: tell us what you have in mind and we come back with a proposal. We answer in English.
- Quick reply by email or WhatsApp
- Free quote, no obligation, no online payment
- We reply in English or French
